cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unicorn Walmart deals

Iupbrat
Rewards Hunter

I’ve been a member of Ibotta since the start. I’ve seen every rebate app created go through the same patterns. Ibotta seems to have avoided the usual death of rebate apps, but one thing I have been tracking for 2-3 years now is Walmart’s response to rebate apps and coupons. About 18 months ago, I started to notice and track specific items at Walmart being raised in price. At first I thought it was just coincidental, however, it didn’t take long to see that price hikes were comparable to Ibotta rebate amounts for that item. Over a year, I started to chart high rebates on Ibotta and other apps as well as the price increases. Each time the increase corresponded to the rebate, it’s time period, as well as paper coupons issued. It was pretty clear the Walmart raised the prices in relation to coupons available. Once the coupons expired, the prices were adjusted. More recently, every free after purchase item listed on Ibotta has been removed from the shelves and on their app. I find it hard to believe that not one free item on the app is just magically gone from every Walmart in a 65mile radius of my location. Interestingly enough, they find their way back approximately 6 weeks after the rebate. If they don’t, I assume that they are going to be offered again on the app. Sure enough that is the case. I’m just really fed up with being mislead and manipulated by offers that aren’t available. I live close to Flight 93 in a rural area with 1 Walmart and 2Giant Eagles. That’s it so other stores are not an option. The closest Target is 60+ miles away so when Walmart pulls this strategy I just want to let my cart in an isle and walk out. Eith Ibotta is manipulating or Walmart is. I’m guessing both at so point. Am I the only person who this is happening to or are there others out there experiencing the same thing? I’d really like to hear for others, because at this point I