cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do you have a stockpile plan or strategy?

cheryl_123
Saver

As an independent contractor I try to maintain a rolling one month stockpile of household essentials and grocery staples to help weather lumpy income. I'd have a more robust stockpile if I had the room! This has me wondering if others actively manage their stockpiles and if they developed any best practices like maintaining an inventory or creative storage solutions?

12 Replies

Re: Do you have a stockpile plan or strategy?

FelskyNY
Deal Master

@cheryl_123  I think the biggest problem for many of us is having the room.  I stockpile until things start bursting at the seams.  Thankfully I had toilet paper and paper towels, because the shelves were bare here in NY during the worst of the pandemic. I think we all have our toothpaste stockpile.  I personally stockpile bodywash, hand soap, laundry pods, and dish soap.  (Oh wait, I see a theme.)  If it's free or close to free (and non-perishable), I stockpile it or donate it.

Lollykins
Core Shopper

My husband calls it my "collection".  I stockpile pasta, cereal, crackers, oatmeal, condiments, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, deodorant,  toothpaste, vitamins, OTC meds, bandaid, skin care products, laundry products, TP, and on and on the list goes.

If it's free, I'll take it!  I make several large donations every year to the local food bank.  And we use the rest.  Below is just a sample of my "stash".

20210722_142738.jpg

20210722_143029.jpg

The best way to save money is to spend less for the things you need to buy!

Xiao
Deal Ambassador

@Lollykins  Wow, very nice ‘collection’! I wish I had a dedicated closet space just for my ‘collection’. 

Lollykins
Core Shopper